The Earth Hour Profile Project

Some weeks ago I was contacted by Dana Yotov about an awareness campaign called The Earth Hour Profile Project, and I was happy to show my support to this beautiful idea.

Hundreds of millions of people, businesses and governments around the world unite each year to support the largest environmental event in history – Earth Hour.

More than 7,000 cities and towns in 152 countries and territories switched off their lights for Earth Hour 2012, sending a powerful message for action to save the planet. This year, more than 200,000 individuals accepting I Will If You Will challenges on YouTube to turn their symbolic action for the planet into an ongoing commitment to a sustainable future.

Earth Hour is organised by the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). With almost 5 million supporters and a global network in over 100 countries/territories, it’s one of the world’s largest and most respected independent conservation organisations. WWF’s mission is to stop the degradation of the Earth’s natural environment and build a future where people live in harmony with nature.

3t81LcOm98r_sgH3dwcNXSTjsbO9FZUQw_Z3CO5geHc

Dana organized this project to spread the word about this wonderful initiative. These are her words:

“Hello everyone! The Earth Hour has been my personal advocacy for a while now. This year, I thought I’d do more than just participate, by helping to increase awareness of this campaign to people in Second Life. From January 1 to March 20, I will take profile photos of campaign volunteers for free to help spread the word about the Earth Hour. My goal is to take a minimum of 60 photos (representing 60 minutes or 1 hour) during this period.

I will not accept payment, tips or donations; but what I will ask from you in exchange will be any (or all if you wish) of the following:
(1) Use your Earth Hour photo as your SL page profile picture until March 23, the actual day of the Earth Hour
(2) Share the photo on your blog, social media profiles, and/or Flickr stream
(3) Share the Earth Hour 2013 video on your social media profile such as Facebook, Twitter, etc.
(4) Switch off your lights and other electronic devices on March 23 from 8:30 PM to 9:30 PM

For your profile photo, please wear something green, blue or a combination of both.
I am available to take photos daily from 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM SLT, and will confirm appointments on a first come, first served basis. To book a photo session, please fill up the form found at http://bit.ly/earthhourpp.

Please don’t send me NCs or IMs in-world as SL could sometimes be undependable. Kindly use the form on this post to be sure. To see samples of my work, please check out my Flickr Gallery here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/danayotov.

Book a shoot with Dana and support this wonderful cause!

Leave a comment